Veganly Delicious

Julie-Juliaing one cookbook at a time.

Lasagna Woes and Canning Fun. (AKA hello? is this thing on?)

on September 15, 2012

Is anyone reading this?
Am I just talking to myself? (I often do this).

I hope people are reading this. 🙂

Okay – so for a belated birthday gift I decided to get a canner. This was totally going to be my summer project, and then summer got away from me, and then I figure, well what the heck, why not? So I did. And I have to say I am so, very happy that I did. So this is why I have made rhubarb butter (like I said before) but I’ve also got 6 lbs of strawberries just sitting in some sugar (and 3 lbs are with lemons) ready to make some preserves. Also – I’m making peach jam. JAM.

But the sad tale is – I’ve also ran out of sugar. I think this is the first time ever I’ve been sugarless.
(needless to say other baking and stuff I needed to do needs to be on hold until I can get to the organic grocery store for some vegan sugar).

 

This weeks menu was “Let’s use the stuff up in my fridge before it gets too bad”. Also I really wanted to embrace the comfort food aspect because it was been a horrendously. horrible. bad week.

Sadly – the cucumber died before I got to use it.

It was – Jalapeno Poppers.
this took about 20ish minutes to actually slice them all, clean them up and stuff them. (I only bought 6 – because I forgot my grocery list and thought I needed 6) –  the stuffing actually went into all of the 12 (so it makes me wonder what the heck I would have done had I had 12? and 24 to stuff. These are … okay. (I think it would have helped had the breading really crisped up).

 

White Lasagna.
Man. this took for.ev.er to make. FOR.EV.ER. (a tip. should you make this, start steaming all your veggies first. I didn’t see all the “steam till tender” parts so i had to actually stop – do that, and then continue with everything:

I used a new vegan cheese (Follow Your Heart), instead of Daiya (FYH actually melts really well, and grates really well).  I don’t know how it tastes. it tastes…okay. Lasagna is one of those things that tastes better the longer it has a chance to sit. But as the only seasoning is Italian seasoning, some salt and pepper I have a feeling it’s gonna be a bit bland. (My mom actually asked me what I was thinking and always over season the lasagna).

I actually need to get a big lasagna pan too. I used my biggest one and oi. Thank goodness I had the foresight to put a baking sheet underneath it all.

 

Lemongrass Soda. (on hold until I get some sugar)

Chocolate Zucchini Pecan Muffin (on hold until I get some sugar).

Meltable Sugar Cookies
Really yummy. I didn’t frost them. I don’t think it was really necessary even if the calories allow you too. These really do kind of melt in your mouth.

Tomorrow I’ll be making:
Vegetable Noodle Soup with Sweet Potato Drop Biscuits. (sans biscuit pan. Boo)

the fruits of my labour (seriously all those strawberries get preserved).

and crispy risotto cakes. (should i feel bothered to actually bake them. but I figure since the oven has to be preheated anyway why not? I’ve also got some chickpeas soaking but I am more in a popcorn kinda mood. (so i’ll be breaking my own rule and will be repeating recipes – maybe. we’ll see)

Leave a Reply

